

Minutes of the Incoming Board of Directors meeting of the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists (OACETT)

Thursday June 1, 2023 at 11:00am-12:00pm

Hybrid (via Zoom) and In-Person at the Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites- Victoria Falls Room

Present:

Rosanna Baggs, C.E.T., rcji, Past-President Micheal Mooney, C.E.T. President Christopher van Dop, C.E.T. President-Elect Brian Raymond, C.E.T. Eastern Region Shelley Parker, A.Sc.T. Horseshoe Region Stephanie Pesheau, C.E.T. Northern Region Roy Sue-Wah-Sing, C.E.T. Toronto Region Samuel Nammari, C.E.T., P.Eng Western Region

Mladen Ivankovic, C.E.T Young Professionals Representative

Daniel LiaoHeads of TechnologyAlex LustyPublic RepresentativeDavid VisentinStudent Representative

Staff:

Cheryl Farrow, MBA, CAE Chief Executive Officer

Arshad Zaver, CPA, CA Director, Finance and Corporate Services

Barry Billing Director, IETO & Registrar

David Terlizzi Director, PASB & Government Relations

Elle Armstrong Administrator

Regrets:

Norman Sandberg, C.E.T. Central Region

President's Opening Remarks and Call to Order

President Mooney called the meeting to order at 10:36 am. He welcomed the Board of Directors and guests and noted that the meeting was being recorded for the purpose of accuracy of minutes.

Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Stephanie Pesheau, Seconded by Mladen Ivankovic and Carried.

Resolved that the Board of Directors approves the agenda as amended, to include the appointment of the Young Professionals Committee Chair and the appointment of the Treasurer.

INCOMING BOARD

Swearing of Oaths

Mr. Barry Billing, Registrar and Commissioner of Oaths for OACETT, announced that he would be swearing in the new Board members and welcomed them to the OACETT Board of Directors for 2023-25:

- Brian Raymond, CD, C.E.T.
- Shelley Parker, A.Sc.T.
- Stephanie Pesheau, C.E.T.
- Roy Sue-Wah-Sing, C.E.T.
- Samuel Nammari, C.E.T., P.Eng
- Mladen Ivankovic, C.E.T
- David Visentin
- Daniel Liao
- Alex Lusty

Officers whose term began May 28, 2023 and will continue until the Annual General Meeting in 2025:

Micheal Mooney, C.E.T. will serve as President Rosanna Baggs, C.E.T., rcji, will serve as Past-President Christopher van Dop, C.E.T. will serve as President-Elect Cheryl Farrow, MBA, CAE will serve as CEO, ex-officio member (non-voting)

Note to the minutes: As Norman Sandberg was unable to attend the Incoming Board of Directors meeting, he was sworn in separately on June 19, 2023.

Indemnification agreement

Incoming Board members were asked to sign a personalized version of the Indemnification agreement, which had been drafted by OACETT's legal counsel and was available for advance review in the meeting package. A copy of this signed document will be sent to all participants after the meeting.

Appointment of Committee Chairs

- ➤ Shelley Parker, A.Sc.T. is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee (DEIC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- ➤ Brian Raymond, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee (FAC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- Norman Sandberg, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Governance, Strategy and Policy Committee (GSPC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- ➤ Brian Raymond, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as Treasurer for OACETT until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- Micheal Mooney, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Human Resources Committee (HRC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- Samuel Nammari, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as a Member-at-Large of the Human Resources Committee (HRC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.

- ➤ Roy Sue-Wah-Sing, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Member Engagement and Services Committee (MESC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- Rosanna Baggs, C.E.T., rcji, CAPM is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Nominating Committee (NC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- Stephanie Pesheau, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Registration and Professional Practice Committee (RPPC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.
- Mladen Ivankovic, C.E.T. is hereby appointed as the Chair of the Young Professionals Committee (YPC) until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.

President Mooney noted that the other members of the Committees will be appointed at the September meeting of the Board of Directors, upon the recommendation of the Nominating Committee.

5852 Moved by Alex Lusty, Seconded by Roy Sue-Wah-Sing and Carried, with one abstention.

Resolved that Brian Raymond, as the appointed Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee (FAC), be the appointed Treasurer for OACETT until the Annual General Meeting in 2025.

5853 Moved by Christopher van Dop, Seconded by Mladen Ivankovic and Carried, with one abstention.

Resolved that the list of Committee Chairs as recommended by the Nominating Committee be approved as amended to include the Young Professionals Committee Chair.

IMPORTANT DATES FOR 2023-2024

Orientation plan and 2023-24 meeting schedule

President Mooney advised the Incoming Board of Directors that a calendar with important dates had been included in the meeting package and corresponding calendar invitations had also been sent to each Board member. He noted that while the 2024 Conference dates and location haven't been finalized yet, these typically take place during the first two weeks of June. Accordingly, the AGM will take place on the last Saturday in May. Once dates and locations have been finalized, they will be added to the calendar.

He also noted that orientation for all Board members will take place over two days in August, followed by the first Board meeting in September, which will be virtual.

Budget and business plan schedule

President Mooney informed the Board that a detailed schedule outlining the Budget and Business Plan Schedule for Fiscal Year 2024 is included in the meeting package. The schedule outlines critical timelines to be achieved by the Committees to ensure there are enough resources to fund activities related to the strategic priorities.

Although the composition of the Committees will only be finalized at the September Board meeting, the preliminary business plans will be presented at that meeting in order to move the budget process forward for approval in November, once it has been endorsed by the Finance and Audit Committee. Because this is a transition year for the governance model, the existing IETO and PAS Boards will continue to provide their input into the planning process as well.

President Mooney invited any questions from the Board, to which there were none.

New Business

There was no new business, but President Mooney went around the table and had each Board member introduce themselves and asked them what they would like to achieve during their term. The following topics were discussed amongst the Board:

- Increasing student and young professionals' membership engagement.
- Working with industry leaders to incorporate OACETT designations.
- PPE implementation in colleges and an increased OACETT presence in colleges.

President Mooney congratulated the Board members on their appointment to OACETT's Board of Directors and offered his guidance going forward.

<u>Adjournment</u>

Meeting adjourned at 11:50am.	
Secretary	President